Deaf Education

Polly Brekke

Dean of Students - Deaf Education

P: 515-242-8402 | E: polly.brekke@dmschools.org

Cassidy Carr

Sign-Langauge Interpreter

P: 515-242-8402 | E: cassidy.carr@dmschools.org

Leah Cone

Deaf Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: leah.cone@dmschools.org

Class Description

Hi, my name is Leah Cone. I am a teacher for deaf ed. My college background includes Northern Illinois University for BA in Vocational Rehabilitation; University of Northern Iowa for BA in Early Childhood Special Education and MA in Special Education; and University of Nebraska-Lincoln for a Certificate in Deaf Education: Birth-21. I’ve worked for Des Moines Public Schools since 2000. I have two children and enjoy spending my free time with them.

Cindy Crawford

Lead Deaf Education Interpreter

P: 515-242-8402 | E: cindy.crawford2@dmschools.org

Ursula Dierauer

Sign Language Interpreter

P: 515-242-8402 | E: ursula.dierauer@dmschools.org

Bob Greif

Deaf Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: robert.greif@dmschools.org

Tiffany McDaniel

Deaf Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: tiffany.mcdaniel@dmschools.org

Class Description

Hello, I am Tiffany McDaniel. I am a Deaf Educator at Capitol View Elementary. I am very excited to be working at Capitol View Elementary.  I have been with Des Moines Public Schools for 17 years, previously I was an Itinerant Teacher of the Deaf for the AEA.

I graduated from Missouri State University with Bachelors of Science. I furthered my education at Missouri State by getting my Masters of Science in the area of Communication and Science Disorders with emphasis in Deaf Education.   My first teaching job was in Mason City, IA.  I then choose to move to the Des Moines area to be closer to family.

I love being a teacher!  Meeting new families and watching the students grow, makes my job the best in the world. In my free time I enjoy reading, bike riding and spending time with my friends and family. 

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have, I would love to help in any way I can.

Roberta Ryerson

Deaf Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: roberta.ryerson@dmschools.org