Special Education

Debbie Crabtree

Special Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: debbie.crabtree@dmschools.org

Beckie Elder

Special Ed. Consultant

P: 515-242-8402 | E: beckie.elder@dmschools.org

Vannessa Foelske

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: vannessa.foelske@dmschools.org

Class Description

Hello, my name is Vannessa Foelske. I am currently a special education teacher at Capitol View Elementary. I have taught both regular education and Special education for the last 29 years in the Des Moines District. I have been at Capitol View for the last 8 years. I graduated from the University of Northern Iowa  in Elementary Education/Special Education. I live in my home town of Ankeny with my husband . I have two grown boys that also live in Ankeny.

Tara Gott

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: tara.gott@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Tara Gott. I graduated from Graceland University in 2015 with a Bachelor's degree in Elementary Education with endorsements in reading, special education, and coaching. I just recently graduated with my master degree in Educational Administration from Fort Hays State University. This is my fourth year teaching and first year at Capitol View Elementary. I love spending time with family and friends and being outside!

Karen Haag

Special Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: karen.haag@dmschools.org

Emily Harvey

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: emily.harvey@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Emily Harvey and I teach special education. I graduated from Central College with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and endorsement in reading, special education, and coaching. In 2015 I graduated from Graceland University with a master’s degree in differentiated instruction.  I am currently in my 8th year of teaching at Capitol View.

Jayne Logsdon

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: jayne.logsdon@dmschools.org

Biography

I am so lucky to be starting my 3rd year at Capitol View! This year I will be teaching reading almost all day. My personal goal is to help kids be more confident readers who are willing to take risks and even to read hard stuff because it grows your brain and it’s fun! I absolutely love to help my students find great books to read.

 

Outside of school, I live on a little farm and have 4 kids, 8 grandkids, 2 horses, 2 dogs, 2 cats, and 1 husband😊 Besides reading and riding horses, I love to go fishing. I also like to hang out with my family, including my mom (who is 94) and my 5 sisters.

Luanna Lynch

Special Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: luanna.lynch@dmschools.org

Jessica McRoberts

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: jessica.mcroberts@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Jessica McRoberts and this is my second year teaching special education here at Capitol View.  I graduated from Simpson College with a bachelor's degree in elementary education and endorsements in reading, special education, and social studies.

Angela Miller

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: angela.miller3@dmschools.org

Biography

Hello! My name is Angela Miller, and I am in my 11th year of teaching at Capitol View.  I currently work with 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders.  I graduated from UNI with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a minor in strategist 1 special education. I recently went back to UNI and received an endorsement in strategist 2 for special education. 

Shawnda Newton

Special Education Associate

P: 515-242-8402 | E: shawnda.newton@dmschools.org

Elizabeth Schildroth

Special Education Teacher

P: 515-242-8402 | E: elizabeth.schildroth@dmschools.org

Class Description

Hello! My name is Elizabeth Schildroth and I am a special education teacher at Capitol View Elementary. I have been teaching special education at Capitol View Elementary for 7 years. I received my Bachelor’s degree in Elementary and Special Education from Iowa State University.